College of Westchester to award up to $37,000 in scholarships at annual fundraiser

Event will celebrate frontline workers and White Plains Hospital

Contact: Annette Casserly, 914.831.0343

April 16, 2021 (White Plains, N.Y.) — The College of Westchester Charitable Foundation (CWCF) will salute frontline workers and White Plains Hospital at its May 25 Annual Scholar Recognition.

The virtual event, entitled Saluting Our Stars, is a fundraiser for scholarships that will help nine students finance their higher education. Since its establishment 16 years ago, the CWCF has provided more than $350,000 to more than 150 students.

“The exceptional scholarship recipients have been chosen to pursue professions in healthcare, technology and business at The College of Westchester,” said Ted S. Miller, co-president of the College of Westchester Charitable Foundation.

Saluting Our Stars will recognize White Plains Hospital and will feature a keynote address by Leigh Anne McMahon, Executive Vice President of Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer. McMahon began her career at White Plains Hospital in 1984 as a staff nurse.

The annual scholarship fundraiser will be held at a time when many students and their families have lost their income because of the pandemic recession.

“These scholarship recipients will go on to careers where they will help save our neighbors’ lives, keep people connected and promote economic mobility in our community at a time when it is critically needed,” said Marissa Weidner, co-president of the College of Westchester Charitable Foundation.

Many of the college’s students are first-generation college attendees who live in communities hit hardest by the pandemic—both economically and medically. The scholars typically receive between $3,000 to $5,000.

“Waking up every day in fear of not being able to pay for the next month’s tuition is not a pleasant feeling, but dropping out is not an option,” said Lilla Kirilla, one of the 2021 Scholars. “I’ve come a long way since January 2019, and I am here to pursue a bachelor’s degree in business administration.”

The 2021 Scholars are:

  • Lilla Kirilla, Business Administration
  • Jessica Pinos, Business Management/Marketing Online
  • Jose Alvarez, Interactive Digital Marketing And Media
  • Danaya Sharp, Business Administration
  • Lillian Ferreira, Business Administration/Management Online
  • Rosana Escoto, Business Administration
  • Caitlin Feliciano, Medical Assistant Management
  • Nyah Pineda, Interactive Digital Media And Marketing
  • Trevonafaith Gordon, Medical Assistant Management

The event will be live-streamed on the CWCF YouTube Channel at 5 p.m. on May 25.

To make a donation visit: